Shifting Sands

Exploring the boundaries of specialisation


The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting (RANZCOG 2018 ASM) was held at the Adelaide Convention Centre (ACC) between Sunday 16 and Wednesday 19 September 2018. The pre-workshops and Diplomates’ Days were held preceding the main meeting on Saturday 15 and Sunday 16 September 2018.

A total of 1018 delegates attended the meeting workshops and main scientific program.


The New Fellows & Awards Presentation Ceremony and Reception was held at the Adelaide Town Hall. 75 newly elevated Fellows and recently certified subspecialists were presented to the Fellowship during the Presentation Ceremony.

The following awards and medals were also presented:


Outstanding Achievement in the DRANZCOG Advanced Oral Examination:

Dr Rohani Oorloff

September 2017

Dr Brendan Marshall

April 2018

Outstanding Achievement in the FRANZCOG Oral Examination:

Dr Adelle Hanna

October 2017

Dr Vanessa Watson

May 2018

RANZCOG Excellence in Women’s Health Award

Dr Virginia Billson

RANZCOG President’s Medal

Dr Martin Ritossa


During the main program days, 155 ePosters were displayed electronically in the ePoster Presentation zone, 20 abstracts were presented as Free Communications and 38 as Static Posters. In addition to this, 9 leading abstracts were selected by the Committee to be presented in dedicated ‘Focus on Research’ plenary sessions.

The following awards were given out during the Closing Ceremony, with all except Dr Richelle Douglas in attendance to receive their award:

Best Early Career Researcher Award was given to Dr Richelle Douglas for her presentation entitled

‘Outbreak of Gonorrhoea in Young People in Australian Cities; Why and What Should Be Done?’

Best Diplomate Early Career Researcher Award was given to Dr Manarangi De Silva for her presentation entitled

‘Causes of Maternal Mortality at The National Referral Hospital, Solomon Islands, over a 5 year period - How can we improve?

Best Static Poster Award was given to Dr Yizhen Liu for her presentation entitled

‘Trends in Twin Birth: An Analysis of 32 Years of Twin Deliveries in Victoria’

And the Aldo Vacca Award for Best Free Communication was given to Dr Amanda Lazzaro for her presentation entitled

‘Knowledge of Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV) in Pregnant Women in New South Wales (NSW) is Low, and Improved With Education’